Articles and Reviews

JUST IN: Check out the January issue 2016 of the STRAD magazine.
Helen will take you through her technique exercises in a 3 page article!

Please note articles and reviews are updated as they become available.
Articles/Interviews/Concert Review links open full text in new window.

One Step Scale System for viola – 10 exercises to a Better Left Hand
by Helen Callus, [shop now]

Carl Fischer Music
onestep

Carl Fischer, the publisher in New York of the Flesch Scales that we all love (well, perhaps I wouldn’t go that far…love is a strong word but we know they are good for us right?) is slated to publish my 1 Step Scale System. They will come out late February 2016 in time for my presentation at the ASTA Convention in Miami in early March. To coordinate with this, the STRAD magazine is writing an article that should be published around Jan/Feb 2017 that lays out the system in a couple pages.

This project has been 20 years in the making and all my students will know and remember it (hopefully fondly). It all came about from my experiences with my teacher Paul Coletti and from our lessons discussing technique. We had talked for years about creating a book together but now, finally, I had the time to pull it together and is based more on how I used those conversations to create a complex and thorough system that I have been using for the past 20 years. Not only very helpful in explaining Mechanics v Technique, they also teach you different ways of practicing and understanding the fingerboard. Anyway – I’ll let you know more about it both of these things as they appear. I’m excited!

—Helen, December 1, 2015

Review of Prokofiev CD [site] Gramophone Magazine
Review of Prokofiev CD [pdf] The Strad Magazine
Review of Prokofiev CD [pdf] American Record Guide
Review of Prokofiev CD [pdf] International Record Review
“Best Viola Works” 11 Top Players Pick Their All-Time Favorites [pdf] Strings Magazine
Review of Portrait CD – Rebecca Clarke Sonata [doc] American Record Guide
Review of British Works for Viola and Orchestra [doc] Gramophone Magazine
“Pastoral Pleasures” review of Walton CD [pdf] Classic FM
“Bring on the Altos” [docs 1 and 2] The Strad Magazine
“Appeal Viola” [pdf – Danish] [doc – English] ESTA Newsletter – December 2004
“Forgotten Masterpiece – Clarke’s viola music speaks for all times” [site] Strings Magazine, by Helen Callus
“Heartstrings – Paul Coletti writes viola music from the heart” [site] Strings Magazine, by Helen Callus
“The Primrose Plan” [site] The Strad – September 2003
“No Wallflower – Callus (UCSB) Brings the Viola Center Stage” [site] Associated Press, Santa Barbara
“Violists Will Play a Global Repertoire” [site] Seattle Times – June 18th, 2002
“Callus Viola Recital a Savored Rarity” [site] Seattle Times – April 3rd, 2000
“Putting the Viola in the Spotlight” [site] Seattle Times – March 31st, 2000
“Chamber Fest: Viola Takes The Biggest Bow” [site] Seattle Times
“UW Violist Callus Isn’t Just Fiddling Around” [site] Seattle Times – January 23rd, 2000
“Recital Puts the Spotlight on Viola with Rich Rewards” [site] Seattle P.I. – February 19th, 1998
“Bridge Ensemble is Perfect at Nordstrom Recital Hall” [site] Seattle Times – October 14th, 1998
“Bridge Ensemble Performance Skillful, Moving” [site] Seattle Post-Intelligencer
“Violist to Introduce Prev. Unknown Music by Women Composers” [site] UW Daily – November 1st, 2001